On Thankfulness.

There are lots of reasons to ‘celebrate’ and hold dear the tradition of Thanksgiving, but the underlying purpose and main idea is to be reminded of what we’re thankful for and how. I wanted to take the time for a minute to give my thanks for all I am grateful for.

I’m thankful for my job. It’s so hard and some days are excruciating but at this point I can’t really imagine doing anything else.

I’m thankful that I was able to take enough chances of love and dating to end up finding the person who is so right for me; I’m grateful to everyone I went out with because each person, whether we had an amazing time or not, showed me what I didn’t want in a partner, what I would and wouldn’t tolerate, what it feels like to go on a great date, and how to approach love again after my past nihilistic viewpoints.

I’m thankful that I left the 2015-2016 academic year behind. It was one of the hardest years of my life.

I’m thankful that I can look back on my past now and laugh. Laugh at my stupid frivolous twenties and all the things I believed to be “hurt” by, which were really just distractions from real hurt, and/or trying to involve myself in more drama, and/or distracting myself from bigger problems.

I’m thankful for food, shelter and clothing. I’m thankful I have winter boots and warm, dry socks and underwear. I’m thankful for basics because they’re so important but sometimes we forget them.

I’m thankful that I ended up getting beautiful free comfy couches for my apartment. I never could have afforded those on my own.

I’m thankful that I love what I do, and I have the actual ability to do it.

I’m thankful for Ryan Adams and Wilco for every reason ever.

I’m simply so thankful for my life. It’s not perfect and I don’t have everything (and pretending I do have everything would be ridiculously unrealistic and silly) but I have what I need, most of what I want, and I have love and respect and gainful employment. I’m so grateful.

Leave a Reply

