The Most Inspiring Thing I Heard This Week.

Lately I’ve felt overweight. I am technically “overweight”, I guess. I look at myself in the mirror versus myself about a year ago and I can really see how much I’ve let myself go. I know for a fact that there are people out there who love the fact that I’ve let myself go. And to those people I say this: there are lots of reasons – good reasons and ‘bad’ reasons – why people gain or lose weight, and before you go judging how someone looks on the outside maybe how you feel about someone’s weight gain says more about you than it does about them. ANYWAYS, moving on…

I met this truly lovely and wonderful girl the other night at a party. She was awesome and full-figured and vivacious and fun and beautiful and stylish and a staunch feminist and she was one of the most empowering positive people I’ve met in a long time.

She and I had somehow gotten on the topic of weight loss accounts on social media, and questioning why people couldn’t just be private in their exercise regimes, and what kind of validation are they seeking by posting about their shrinking hard bodies every day. And she had this to say:

You know what a bikini body is? It’s a body. That fits into a bikini. I have one right now, and so do you.

I think the capabilities of your body, and your inner happiness are what I took away from this conversation. And the fact that beauty doesn’t come in just one size. It was an amazing thing to hear from a rather amazing person, and I wanted to share it as a reminder to all of us that we can only be who we are and if we’re happy and alive, being who we are is enough.

Leave a Reply

