I Love You

I Love You

You told me you loved me
in Seattle, Washington just after
midnight. And I told you I loved you back,
just after midnight.

Leaves littered the streets where raindrops
usually lie on their backs, gazing up at stars
that usually aren’t there. But they were on this
night, repeating themselves, a spangled refrain.

I love you! Three words
hold so much power. A
boy pulling a little girl’s braids in class,
your boss curling her sadist lips, announcing
You’re fired!

Leave a Reply

