30 Days of Happy or Grateful or Whatever, Day 20

Today marks the 7th year to the day since I saw Ryan Adams live at the Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver. This was long before I lived here, before I had my license, before I really knew a lot about the world. Sometimes I mark it as the first ‘brave’ day of the rest of my life. It was significant, emotionally, socially and in terms of my journey into adulthood. Actually, that whole summer was. 

Summer 2007 was one of the best summers of my life (but 2014 has given it some serious competition for first place!); it was my first summer in Edmonton and the last summer of what I’d consider to be my naive and innocent childhood. I was still figuring it all out. I hadn’t even kissed a boy yet. I hadn’t done much at all aside from school. I worked with addicts that summer and 21-year old me was exposed to an ugly and unjust world that I had heard of but had not seen until that moment. It was the summer I forged friendships with four girls who would become, for at least a little while, my posse. That summer involved running through sprinklers at 3 am at the park, walking home at sunrise, a couple of times, getting drunk and laying on the pavement watching the lightning storm illuminate the sky hot pink like a neon sign. It was the summer I realized what life was really all about. It was short-lived and hot and wonderful. Ryan Adams was a huge part of that whole experience. 

Am I grateful for Ryan Adams’ music? Grateful I met him and went on a 7-Eleven run with him and his entourage? Grateful for one amazing summer? Grateful for being 21? 

All of the above. July 29 is a day of good vibes. 

Leave a Reply

