30 Days of Happy or Grateful or Whatever, Day 17

Today I’m grateful I went into teaching at all.

It was a hard decision to make, leaving my career, friends, family and my city to pursue all of this. It was a financial burden (and will be for a long time) and it involved some (although, thanks to a lot of assistance, not a TON) of sacrifices, and I was unsure of how it was going to go. Can I do this?

I almost didn’t.

But then, I did.

And I am a couple of weeks from graduating and now I can’t actually believe that this insane year is actually ending. It feels different from undergrad. Undergrad was a culmination of so much hard work, but it was also easy to skirt by and sit around silently doing the work. In this degree, I had to do something I’ve never done before: scream out loud. And I did it. So loud it hurt my own ears. So loud I yelled and then ducked for cover. Loud.

I did it and now I’m graduating and I couldn’t be happier, not just of my accomplishments but from what I gleaned socially and emotionally from this program. I’m so grateful I had the chance to switch schools so I could connect with a particularly wonderful person who’s been wonderful from the day we met until today. I’m grateful for people without whom I never could have pushed through a Bachelor of Education program and I’m grateful to have realized what I needed to succeed and make it happen for myself. I’m grateful.

Leave a Reply

