30 Days of Happy, or Grateful or Whatever, Day 10

Today I’m grateful that I made it through my teaching practicum. 

I was told when I started the program that it would be the hardest thing I’ve ever done and because I’ve been through a lot of hardships in my life, I thought to myself, “as if this will be the hardest thing I’ve ever done” and I low-balled the difficulty level. And I was so wrong. Teaching is everything hard and time-consuming and it takes up all your time. You dream about it. You think about it constantly. Everything becomes something you could use in your classroom and everything that goes on in your classroom is of primary crucial importance. It’s everything. And it takes over everything. It’s scary just how invasive it is as a part of your life while you’re in that room working with kids for 7-8 hours a day. It was so hard for me to be diligent, caring, vigilant, responsive, respectful and just be all the things that everyone needed me to be at once while still being myself.

But I did it. 

I can’t believe I did it.

Today in my car I found one of the notebooks I kept during my teaching practicum and it was just full of notes and reminders and mock-ups of lesson plans and to-do lists and it brought me back to those six weeks of tumultuous terrifying hellish work. And I just think… I did this. I did all of this. I did what I thought I could never do and I took it all with pride, dignity and hard work. I’m so proud and grateful for that. 

Leave a Reply

