One time, there was this Post Secret I read that said, “we accept the love we think we deserve”; it’s a piece of wisdom I’ve taken with me that has helped me make quite a few positive changes in my life. And yet, I still think this is true and I still think it is true that I’m trapped by this statement in a certain kind of way. Maybe the reason I find it hard to move beyond that phase of ‘unrequited love’ isn’t just because I’m juvenile and immature; it’s because I genuinely don’t believe that anyone would return my affections (in that way) and that they would always be able to do better than me. I accept the love I think I deserve: none at all.

Leave a Reply

