Welcome, 2011.

I’ve been waiting for you. I was wondering if and when you were going to show up because for a while there, particularly in the last few weeks of December, even a good thing seemed to be far too much to handle.  But my God, you have a hard act to follow.  Take a look back at the last 12 months of posts here and tell me — music, movies, adventures, memories, and even ACTUAL writing that is somewhat artistic and oddly personally meaningful… beat that, 2011.  I’m not saying you can’t: but you should at least try, if not actually surpass the goodness of the previous year.  I have full faith that you can do it.  I know in fact, that you can and I so look forward to seeing you unfold, in spite of my paralyzing fear of the unknown.  I used to be more afraid of the unknown, before very pessimistic wisdom taught me that no unknown can be worse than the past unknowns that ended up utter disasters.  And anything that’s unknown and potentially negative at this point, I think I can handle.  Yes… I think I can handle it.

Leave a Reply

