The Swiss Chalet Incident

I decided it was a brilliant idea to order a Swiss Chalet “Festive Holiday Feast” or whatever it’s called, for my sister’s and my gift exchange. I went online to take a look at the menu and noticed you can order a meal online to be delivered at a later date. Well… why the hell not? I ordered fries, mashed potatoes, corn, salad, multigrain dinner rolls, and just for kicks, apple pie – all accompanied by stuffing, chalet sauce and gravy. BAM.

This is all kind of extraneous to the story, however. Well, for now anyways. The order is coming on December 4 at about 6 p.m. I’m looking forward to it.
But just as I was closing the window on my computer, I get a phone call from a Toronto number; the Caller ID says, ‘Cara CC’. I don’t know anyone named Cara, and I don’t know why someone’s calling me at 11 p.m. their time. Nevertheless, I pick up the phone.

“Hello?”

“Hi, my name’s Cara calling from Swiss Chalet.”

I almost replied, “REALLY!?” but kept my composure. There’s no reason for this woman, even though she’s a complete stranger, to think I’m as insane as I would seem if I had said that.

“Hi, how are you?” I replied. How are you. As though I care how she is.

“Great thank you! I’m just confirming your order, I have it right here in front of me!” She says this in the world’s friendliest voice. Children’s-entertainer-friendly. The kind of friendly that you can HEAR, and not need to see. In addition, keep in mind this phone call came quite literally 30 seconds after I had placed an online order. I sort of had this Big Brother, or Hal type of feeling. She continues on to say, “I have you down for the Festive Holiday Feast with the four packs of Lindor truffles, chicken, stuffing, chalet sauce, and your sides were: French fries, mashed potatoes and gravy, corn, salad, and multigrain rolls. I also have you down for two slices of apple pie, is this all correct?”

“…Yes.”

“And did you want ketchup, salt, pepper, butter and utensils with that as well?”

“…Yes. Please.”

“Well wonderful! It will arrive within 15 minutes of 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, December 4, or else it will be free!” Wait… if it’s 15 minutes late it’s free? Hold the phone. Nobody told me about this! Well… nobody until Cara was so kind as to call me and tell me. So if the delivery person shows up at 6:17p.m. that Saturday, I can safely call them out on it and now say, ‘CARA called me from TORONTO at near-midnight and told me herself that you’re late and now my festive feast is SO free right now.’ And she can answer my dance call and say, ‘yes, I certainly did.’ And I won’t have to pay a dime for the chalet sauce. Maybe the roads will be horrible that day… Anyway, then she said, “You take care, Miya!” ‘Take care’. Like we were old family friends, or she was a kindly old stranger on the bus.

“You too, thanks for calling…”

“Well it was no problem at all! Goodnight!”

I kind of cradled the phone in my hand for a couple of seconds and said aloud, “I can’t believe that just happened.” It was a ‘Holy Customer Service, Batman’ moment which was both courteous and creepy simultaneously. And what is this poor woman doing at 11:30 at night calling customers across the country to confirm their orders!? And how can she possibly, possibly do this with such adamant cheer, such a brimming of smiles?

Perhaps… to be fair… the idea of calling someone and saying in not so many words, “guess what? You’re getting rotisserie chicken with four sides of AWESOME and to top it all off…free truffles AND apple pie!” may elicit cheerfulness from both parties. I don’t know.

Whatever the case… Merry Christmas, Cara CC.

One thought on “The Swiss Chalet Incident

  1. Merry Christmas Cara indeed! I think that IS a pretty “Holy Batman” moment…creepy yet comforting as well! (ps I added your blog to my blog :))

Leave a Reply

