I Dreamed of Elevators

An elevator dream is a rather complex dream and you should interpret it in light of all the other symbols in your dream, for one thing, if the elevator is going up your fortunes will increase, down is the opposite. If the elevator continues to go up and down with out letting you off means you have let your emotions, or your situation, get out of control and must do something to stop it.
— from http://www.sleeps.com/dictionary

I’ve really noticed that most of my dreams have predominently displayed elevators in them.  Usually they’re very large, sometimes they’re lavishly decorated, and most of the time they’re tinted colours on the inside.  Usually the elevator is going up and when I get to the top I’m in this weird place that I’ve never seen before.  Or else I’m on the roof of this truly scary deathtrap rooftop that’s slippery and dangerous and high and I can’t get down.  And I’m not really sure why this occurs so often.

Example: last night, I dreamed that I was waiting in the lobby of my building for the elevator and when it came, it was an oversized, sea green-tinted elevator and the Jonas Brothers were going up with me.  Nick Jonas started hitting on me, asked how old I was, and offered jokingly to serenade me.  Then he asked for my phone number.  And I was legitimately creeped out when I woke up but my first thought was, again with the elevator thing.

According to the above definition, it implies that my fortunes are increasing.  Only this definition is for shit because it implies that dreams can predict the future.  And I’ve known to be psychic, but I’m not that psychic.  If I were psychic, the above dream would imply that I would meet the Jonas Brothers or something.  Which makes no sense at all, nor does it pertain to my life or interests, really.

The elevator thing is a mystery to me, and I don’t know how to interpret or examine the same symbol popping up again and again and manifesting itself in very different ways in different settings with different storylines and contexts.  It’s almost like the principal symbol in a novel of my life that I have to decipher in order to understand the book’s main thesis.  Are elevators the key to my life then?  Am I destined to symbolize everything that occurs in my life to the movement, strucuture, function, purpose and up-and-down dichotomy of an elevator?  Does everyone have a recurring symbol that must possess some kind of secret, hidden meaning for them?

I’ll never understand dreams.  They’re so interesting.  They’re like your brain trying to tell you something important but leaving it up to you to figure out what it is or why it’s important.

Leave a Reply

