¡Viva la Vida!

So today, I landed a job interview.  I’ve been waiting my WHOLE LIFE for an interview like this one and it’s not even that great.  But great things always have to begin somewhere.  So I’m going to try and pull out all the stops for this one.  No holding back, no messing around, this could potentially be all my dreams coming true right before my eyes!  I don’t want to count my chickens (and I’m not, since I never assume anything will happen for me).  However, my big plan is to ace this, not necessarily for them, but for me.  Because I’m continuing on my crusade to focus on me.

Anyway, I forsee nothing but wonderful things coming my way in the summer of 2009.  For one, I want to be (at least MORE) financially independant and I want to stop spending so much.  And at the same time, I want ever so badly to save money for a trip somewhere.  Somewhere wonderful.  And I’d love to scope out British Columbia too, since it’s important for me to get a feel for being there and visit old friends.  I want to both touch base, and get accepted into grad school.

I have tickets to three dream gigs this summer as well.  Music always plays a huge part in my summer (especially back in 2007; I discovered tons of great albums that year and saw four of the very best concerts of my life thus far, all in about the last seven months of that year) but this summer it already plays a bigger part in my enjoyment of life and appreciation of beauty.  The tickets I have foreshadow a wonderful time.  And I’ve been making good life choices and making positive changes that I’m very proud of.  I’m slowly but surely learning photography and I’m trying to complete other items on my summer list.  And I’m doing all of these things for me.

Here’s a word of advice to anyone who cares to hear it (which I’m sure, is nobody but I don’t care): Do yourself favours.  Good ones.  I don’t mean go get a sundae tomorrow.  I mean, treat yourself well.  Pick things to focus on that are good for you and make you feel like a stronger person.  Have you ever wanted to take guitar lessons?  Do it.  Stuff like that.  Go to a movie alone when no one will see it with you.  Eat at your favourite restauarant alone.  Write something that’s only meant for you to read.  And fuck everyone else.  Doing what’s good for you and what makes you happy, things that will leave a lasting impression and make you very proud of yourself, personal accomplishments that are only for YOU… make a world of difference in your personal life.  At the end of the day, you will be sitting alone in your room, like I am right now, just beaming with a deep personal satisfaction.  And that will keep you glowing and happy when only YOU can see how glowing and happy you are.  Which is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

